

Press Release For immediate release

New board of directors for the Canadian Pork Council

October 25, 2021 – OTTAWA (Ontario) – Pork producers and provincial senior staff from across Canada virtually met last week for the Canadian Pork Council's (CPC) fall members' meeting. In addition to discussing the industry's preparedness for African Swine Fever, the industry leaders discussed the Council's priorities for the new federal government and the development of a compartmentalization program to permit pork trade in the event of a disease outbreak.

CPC also affirmed its board of directors and elected an executive for 2022. Rick Bergmann, a producer from Manitoba was re-elected as chairman and will be joined by Quebec producer René Roy who was re-elected as 1st vice chair, Ontario producer, Doug Ahrens being re-elected as 2nd Vice Chair and Jack DeWit from British Columbia was re-elected as Treasurer.

"Representing our 7,000 Canadian pork producers at the national level is important and rewarding work, and I thank all the directors on the CPC Board for taking the time away from their farms to advance national files." Stated Rick Bergmann, "The Canadian hog industry is a vital contributor to the country's economy and look forward to working with my colleagues to address the many challenges and opportunities we will meet over the next year." added Bergmann

The CPC directors welcomed Ontario producer Chris Cossitt who will join its Board of Directors in January. Chris will be replacing Eric Schwindt as an Ontario pork producer representative.

Bergmann continued, "On behalf of the board and producers from across Canada I would like to thank Eric for his contribution the national organization. Eric was an active member of CPC's advocacy committee and key to developing operations guide and bylaws for the pork promotion and research agency."

The Canadian Pork Council's 2022 Board of Directors is made up of representatives from nine provincial producer organizations.

British Columbia: Jack DeWit Alberta: Brent Moen Saskatchewan: Casey Smit Manitoba: Scott Peters and Claude Vielfaure Ontario: Doug Ahrens and Chris Cossitt

Québec: Yvan Fréchette and René Roy Maritimes: Hans Kristensen Chair: Rick Bergmann

The Canadian Pork Council is the national voice for hog producers in Canada. A federation of nine provincial pork industry associations representing 7,000 farms, the organization plays a leadership role in achieving and maintaining a dynamic and prosperous Canadian pork sector.

Media Contact: Gary Stordy—Director, Government and Corporate Affairs Canadian Pork Council 613 236-9239 ext. 277 stordy@cpc-ccp.com